Bloggage: R.I.P. (LATE FOR 04 DECEMBER) MY WISE OLD MAN LUCKY-THE-CAT & MY BRAVE FRIEND JOYCE’S BEAUTIFUL SON MARTIN




MY BRAVE FRIEND JOYCE IN OUR EMAIL CORRESPONDENCE (QUOTED WITH HER PERMISSION), 07 DECEMBER 2013:

I think it is a beautiful idea to remember your beloved cat in this way and you are very welcome to use my photo if you feel it helps. I understand just how much you loved your cat, OCD meant I only had the one child and it took him from me as well and our pets take the place of our missing children.

Martin loved cats, in fact one of the first gifts he sent me when he went to Japan was a book of pictures called Kittens in Japan. I have scanned two of the photos for you, one because the building is very like your own last home and the other because it represents the start of a journey. They will need cropping (and I don’t know how to do this) as both go across the centre crease in the book but I thought you might like to use one or both of them which would maintain the connection with Martin.

I’ve only just picked up your e-mail so I hope it’s in time for your 3rd day deadline […]

As for passing my name on to Ashok, being able to provide Martin with an enduring legacy by talking about him and raising awareness of OCD in the documentary has been by far the most cathartic step in trying to find peace of mind so Gemma, you have done something very precious and special for me.

[…]

[…] If it makes it easier and quicker for you by all means quote the whole of my e-mail and make Lucky’s special memorial blog a silent one […]

Similarly I will leave it to you and Nigel to decide how you want to post the photos. My OCD would want to get rid of the centre creases because it craves perfection but the non-OCD part of Joyce just wants you to do it the way you prefer […]

 

Leave a Reply

